Jennifer from South Carolina

I am 33 years old and I am taking care of my husband, Brian, full-time. Brian became paralyzed 4 years ago when we had only been married for a year. It was the worst day of both of our lives, although I am sure more his than mine. There was just no way for me to continue to work and care for him so we live off very little money and sometimes have very little food to eat. Thankfully we aren't picky so ramen noodles and bologna sandwiches work in a pinch!

It is pretty easy to come up with cheap foods to eat, but not see easy to come up with cheap ways to provide for his multiple health care needs. Some weeks I spend hours on the phone calling different places trying to find more help. Between that, doctor appointments and his general care, I spend about 19 hours a day on various tasks related to this situation.

I would gladly accept help from family but unfortunately we do not live near any. If you have that option though, take anyone's offer of help. You never know how much you need it until you don't have it.

Share Your Caregiving Story Here

+ Tips for sharing your story

This is an update to my family caregiving story that I have already shared.

I also agree that, only when necessary, AARP or its representative may call me with requests for information, as needed to verify my story.

By clicking “Share Your Story”, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to the terms and conditions of AARP’s Release Agreement and agree to receive emails about AARP activities, events, and membership benefits.